Doing a Masters just out of interest for the subject?

Watch
issawrap
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Is this uncommon, or stupid? It's not to me, but I just want to know people's opinions.

I'm currently a Philosophy undergraduate and want to do a Psychology MSc conversion just because I like Psychology and to see if it's something I would want to pursue further in terms of further study and careers. If I don't end up pursuing the latter afterwards, would the MSc have been 'stupid' or a waste?

Or is it reason enough that I simply wanted to study Psychology at university level out of interest ?

Hope this makes sense. Thank you!
issawrap
Rep:
?
Bump
Catherine1973
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
If you have the money why not! I am considering a law masters following my llb,both done as a mature student for interest rather than I need it for any career.
threeportdrift
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by issawrap)
Is this uncommon, or stupid? It's not to me, but I just want to know people's opinions.

I'm currently a Philosophy undergraduate and want to do a Psychology MSc conversion just because I like Psychology and to see if it's something I would want to pursue further in terms of further study and careers. If I don't end up pursuing the latter afterwards, would the MSc have been 'stupid' or a waste?

Or is it reason enough that I simply wanted to study Psychology at university level out of interest ?

It's a very expensive way of finding out what you want to do in life. What happens if after the Masters you decide you want to do something else that requires a Masters? How long are you going to spend and how much money do you have to use Masters degrees as the way to decide if you like something?
bones-mccoy
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago