scarlettrobbo
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hey i’m currently studying maths psychology criminology at college and i want to go on to study psychology at uni however i know i want to go into the field of forensic psychology so i’m just wondering whether i should do forensic psychology as an undergrad instead of psychology or just do psychology undergrad and then forensic psychology postgrad? will the forensic psychology undergrad limit me or will work places not see it as credible as psych degree?
WazzWazz98
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Do a degree that is accredited by the British psychological society and you will be fine either way
Maybe if you narrow it down too soon you might not be opening as many doors

Especially as psychology has so many branches and you won't have explored them all in that much detail yet
Arden University
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by scarlettrobbo)
Hey i’m currently studying maths psychology criminology at college and i want to go on to study psychology at uni however i know i want to go into the field of forensic psychology so i’m just wondering whether i should do forensic psychology as an undergrad instead of psychology or just do psychology undergrad and then forensic psychology postgrad? will the forensic psychology undergrad limit me or will work places not see it as credible as psych degree?
scarlettrobbo
As the other poster says, doing a course accredited with the British psychological society is the key thing. In terms of a general social sciences degree they are quite limiting, especially Psychology which is an area saturated with graduates. To become a psychologist you need to carry on to PhD study which takes ALOT of studying. As a general rule of thumb I advise students doing a standard social sciences degree to do a Masters in a particular trade like social work or teaching afterwards; there are a lot of psychology teaching jobs around compared to some other subjects.