From using Clearing, to working at Rolls Royce & building an award-winning robot- AMA

Watch
University of Southampton- TSR Talks
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Hi, I’m Binali and I am completing my MEng in Mechanical Engineering at the University of Southampton.

I came to the University through Clearing and while I was a student, I had some really great experiences. These include building a robot that won the Eurobot competition, as well as working as an Assembly Planning Intern with Rolls Royce.

Ask me anything about my experience at Rolls Royce, or of being on placement generally and what it might add to your studies.

Or ask me about the exciting group activities I’ve been part of during my degree like making a robot.

If you’re interested, I can also tell you about the Clearing process and what to expect. It can be a confusing time, but if you know what to look out for, it can be a great way to find your place at your ideal university.

If you just want to hear about what it’s like to study at Southampton in general, I can help with that too.

I’ll be online for the next two weeks to answer your questions, so go ahead, ask me anything!
Ten-Ten
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
Can you please explain the clearing process e.g how long it took to get a place after results day, if it was easy. The whole shabang
Rep:
?
(Original post by Ten-Ten)
Can you please explain the clearing process e.g how long it took to get a place after results day, if it was easy. The whole shabang
Thanks for your question!

I phoned Southampton University the same day as my results and was lucky enough to get a place. I would recommend having a list of universities that offer your course via clearing and calling on the day you get your results. A lot of people will be calling the line the same time as you so be sure to be patient! Be sure to have your results and UCAS Identification number to hand!