JoeyEastham
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Hello

I am wondering if anyone know what the best way to go from a Nurse to a doctor. I have a degree in nursing with a result of 2:1.

Am I best doing a post grad and self funding for the first year.

are there any other options where I can work at the same time ?

thank you for your help.

Joe
Gazelleintense
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Hi! I’m a nurse too, and have an offer to start medicine at UEA Norwich in September. It’s my local uni and I couldn’t move away as I have children. So I’m doing 5 year undergraduate medicine course. They’re easier to get on than 4 year graduate entry medicine but more expensive. I will need to pay £9250 in tuition fees (for the first 4 years the last year is funded for some reason). As I already have a degree, 2.1 like you, I can’t get a tuition fee loan from student finance but I can get a maintenance loan, I’ve been granted about £9000 so that can cover tuition fees, then i will need to work extra shifts throughout the course to fund living costs! Husband works so will help.
I would investigate what uni’s you could go to and their entry requirements to see if you meet them. Most need decent A levels and GCSEs, I had to take A level Chemistry this year because my qualifications are all over 5 years old (my local uni needed evidence of recent study in the last 5 years) and they advised me to do Chem.

If your uni you want to go to needs the UCAT entrance exam you need to start looking into that now as it is taken In the summer months normally. You need to do it this summer if you’re applying by 15th Oct this year, to start September next year.
Clairen98
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by Gazelleintense)