Stressing about my degree before it's begun

Watch
Marina_and_the
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Starting uni in September. I'll (hopefully) be going to Kent, to do English literature with creative writing. And I am STRESSED.

First of all, I did IB HL English instead of A level English, so I'm worried I won't be on the same level as everyone else on the course!
Secondly, I don't know how I'll keep up with the books. Paying for them and reading them seem equally impossible. I'm poor. I'm a slow reader. I procrastinate so much it's almost an art!
I signed up for this because in school I loved creative writing and dissecting books, but I'm pretty sure a degree takes more than just enthusiasm. 😭 How the hell can I get through this??
Skatie
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Hi, I'm starting uni soon too, so I'm not an expert or anything, but anyway here's my advice.

I don't think you should worry about not being the same level as the others. If the university have given you a place, they must think you're good enough. Some people will have taken gap years so their college knowledge will be a but rusty and everyone has slightly different backgrounds. You get loads of private study time so if you don't understand something you can go and study it until you do.

Omg I am such a slow reader too!! That's my biggest concern about university, but I've tried some audiobooks or apps that read text aloud so maybe that would help you too, if you play them whilst reading it'll set a pace for you, or if you can't be bothered to read, just listen to it read out loud. Your student loan should be able to cover the cost of books, or if money is a problem you could see if the university have any grants or financial help available. Depending on the book, you might be able to get some of them second hand.

It sounds like you've picked something you're really interested in, which will make it a hell of a lot easier. I hope this helps! Best of luck for September!