The Student Room Group

I feel like a failure

So I’m 21.
When I came out of college I wanted to be a paramedic even since school. I went college did health and social care. I then did biomedical foundation year to get into paramedics as I didn’t have enough Ucas points half way through I realised it wasn’t right to continue it. I then researched what I can do to get in. I then did another course for 4 months that didn’t work out. I waited till September and did public health which I enjoyed for a year and finally got into paramedics. My parent then died from covid and it really affected me although I’m slowly moving on it still is abit ****. Anyways student finance said I’ve done too many years and couldn’t fund paramedics but said they would fund the last 2 years. So I managed to fund it myself through money I got from my parents will which wasn’t a lot.

I’m in first year paramedics and my placement went really bad and I felt like I enjoyed the job but the environment snd people who work there aren’t pleasant. I’m also a minority and there isn’t a lot so I felt very secluded regardless I continued until I started to not get along with my mentor we clashed multiple times and I felt like all their colleagues was gossiping about me. I had anxiety going in. I quit placement which my uni understood however now I don’t know what to do.

I feel like I’ve done so many years in uni and haven’t stuck to one degree. I feel like a failure and embarrassment to my family and people. Although my passion was paramedics , getting an insight to the type of people who work there and the environment I don’t want to be in a career like that for decades. I also don’t like science however I tried a lot during paramedics.

I’m now thinking to do social work.
But I’m scared I’ll become a failure.
Also I don’t know how I’ll pay for this when student finance said they will only pay my last 2 years of a course.