The Student Room Group

Is this inappropriate?

Hi. So recently had my AS exams, which did not go as planned (due to some bullying incidences and bad mental health- but I promise I studied very hard), particularly my English Lit exams. I got an E, which is low even for me.

The head of the english department called me out today in my lesson and as we are starting our NEA, suggesting I shouldn’t independently study a text because “students working at [my] level would benefit from doing the taught texts.” That in itself is slightly rude but fine, although my most recent report card said I’ve been averaging a B grade, and most of my essays get 16/25, which is in some cases a high C or low B. I expressed this and was promptly told i am working at a C. To continue this, my genuine comment was “teachers mark differently because the subject is so nuanced and interpretations of the mark scheme will always be slightly different (by like 1 mark)” and I was immediately repeatedly told my comment was rude and offensive and I was insulting their marking of my exam (which I wasn’t even talking about that but okay).

She then tried very hard to convince me to change my NEA texts even though our questions are due TOMORROW?? She “can’t force [me] to change but highly suggests it.

I don’t know, I don’t think this breaks any guidelines but this interaction with a professional and a presumably mature adult was incredibly uncomfortable, and I know I’m smart, so it was truthfully just rude for my intelligence to be insulted as such.

I also think it is important to note I have never met this woman in my life. She does not teach my class, so further reason this general aggression was unwarranted. Yes I understand some teachers are more harsh or aggressive than others yet I find it inappropriate to mark my essay as “chaotic” and “irrelevant” as well as imply I am working at a very low level by someone who has never taught me.