The Student Room Group

good a level combo for psychology?

i’m starting a levels in september and taking psychology, business and french.

i was wondering if this is an appropriate combination of subjects to study if i want to do psychology at uni. i know that many universities want you to take science a level to do psychology but i really don’t want to tbh.

would this put me at a disadvantage especially with russell group unis?

thanks 🙂
Original post by anonymoussss77

i was wondering if this is an appropriate combination of subjects to study if i want to do psychology at uni. i know that many universities want you to take science a level to do psychology but i really don’t want to tbh.

thanks 🙂

Hi!

Very cool subject choices! I studied French at A Level as well. The good news is, not all universities will expect sciences for psychology. I think your best bet would be to look at the the course listed on the website of the uni you're thinking of applying to. In many cases, when they list what you will study in each year, they may also indicate whether or not you will be expected to have taken on a science at A Level. If they don't say anything, the types of courses they mention may give you an indication.

Feel free to browse our Bsc Psychology page for an idea of what I'm talking about.

https://www.port.ac.uk/study/courses/bsc-hons-psychology?utm_campaign=ug2021_clearing_sah_psychology&utm_medium=search_google&utm_source=adwords&utm_term=university%20of%20portsmouth%20psychology

UoP has a gold standard of teaching, and 90% of students taking this course were very satisfied.

Hope this helps! Bonne chance!

Samantha, UoP Rep

thanks 🙂

@Anonymousss77