Masters - IPE vs IR vs Politics, Governance and Public Policy (at Sheffield)

Watch
joedyer99
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
I am considering doing one of those three courses as a Masters (MA) at the University of Sheffield. In terms of modules, all these courses are basically the same baring one compulsory module (the three other compulsory modules are the same in each course, and the fourth compulsory module in each respective course can be taken as an optional module in other courses).

I am very torn between each course, so I was wondering which course tends to "sound" better on paper/lead to better job opportunities.

Also, I have just graduated with a first in BSc. Economics also at the University of Sheffield so have no direct educational experience in these courses. I have an offer to do MSc. Financial Economics, but I have fallen out of love with pure/financial economics in general, so I want to do something else. Do you think I will be able to adapt smoothly to this change in direction?

Thanks if you can help!
KatetheLecturer
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
I'm going to vote for IPE, as you already have an economics' background, (so are likely to find the economics aspects much more straightforward than those who are starting from scratch) and there can also be more quant in that, which will give you greater employment options.