Greysnow
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
I'm studying computer science and when I applied to UoP It was rated pretty good on the league tables. However it is now 70th for cs... I really loved the place when I visited but now I'm apprehensive since its gone so far down, does anyone know why this is?
The main reasons I like Portsmouth is the TEF gold rating, the year in industry/career centre and the city in general. However, will employers disregard my degree since it is not rated as high as a Russel group uni?
Should I stick with my gut love for this place or try to find somewhere else since my grades will probably be good enough for adjustment. Many thanks.
University of Portsmouth Student Rep
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
(Original post by Greysnow)
I'm studying computer science and when I applied to UoP It was rated pretty good on the league tables. However it is now 70th for cs... I really loved the place when I visited but now I'm apprehensive since its gone so far down, does anyone know why this is?
The main reasons I like Portsmouth is the TEF gold rating, the year in industry/career centre and the city in general. However, will employers disregard my degree since it is not rated as high as a Russel group uni?
Should I stick with my gut love for this place or try to find somewhere else since my grades will probably be good enough for adjustment. Many thanks.
Hi!
It's great to hear that you have applied to UoP and I hope you enjoy your course.
What I would say is not to bear ratings in mind too much. I was given the same advice when I was searching for universities. The people who tend to fill out surveys and rate the course/uni either have had a very positive experience or a very negative one, so you often get one of two extremes.