mwilkes.123
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
Hey, so I’m a mature student and I’m planning to go into uni to do architecture and design. But my portfolio is due Thursday and I’m really struggling as what to put in it.

-How many pages do I do?
-can I add my photography work?
- should I use cad in it
- how many sketches do I do?
- I’ve got a project on how my house was built and the reason for it should I add this?

Thanks
University of the Arts London
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
(Original post by mwilkes.123)
Hey, so I’m a mature student and I’m planning to go into uni to do architecture and design. But my portfolio is due Thursday and I’m really struggling as what to put in it.

-How many pages do I do?
- should I use cad in it
- I’ve got a project on how my house was built and the reason for it should I add this?

Thanks
Hi mwilkes.123

The university you are applying to may stipulate certain elements they wish to see in your portfolio, however I can give you some general guidance.

At UAL we look for up to 30 pages for a full portfolio, or 15 - 20 for a 'mini-portfolio' (students may be asked for a mini portfolio for some courses before being asked to submit more work if required).

A strong portfolio will consist of a range of work, showing development and research as well as final pieces of work. This can be comprised of various disciplines, photography, sculpture, drawing (CAD and hand drawing are both fine). You would probably want to include work that shows spatial design, and if possible, how people might interact within the space as this is integral to architectural design. Photography is also a good skill to show an understanding of light and composition.

Your portfolio should consist of work that you have undertaken yourself, so if the project about your house is something you've done, then yes, that could certainly include that.