Should I study a law degree or philosophy degree with ambitions to go into Soliciting

Watch
tommadden
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
I am a year 13 student, currently bending my mind over the UCAS applications. Whilst writing my personal statement, I have been advised to choose one course, not two nor two different courses.
I wanted to study the science of Biology at university, but have overall concluded that I should perceive a law career, with a stark interest in debating and the understanding of alternative opinions which differ to that of my own.

As mentioned above, I am trying to think about my future; the career I want to undertake and whether it is a sensible dedication of my time. I'm studying English Lit. (A-Level), Mathematics (A-Level) and Biology (A-Level). With an EPQ on the title, "Is the UK's current stance on 'right to die' hypocritical" where I delved into the realm of moral ethics and bioethical topics -summing my interests together in one project. I have looked at Universities' undergraduate degrees such as Biological sciences or Law but with statistics suggesting that being a lawyer is a difficult and competitive career choice, I fear that my chances of success are mere and small.

Any advice or links to blogs which may ease the choice of possible degrees are much appreciated
Last edited by tommadden; 2 months ago
Faith.A
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
You don't need either degree to sell your body 😂
Joleee
Badges: 19
Report 2 months ago
you know that you can become a solicitor with a biology degree, right? i'm a bit confused tho; 'debating' has nothing to do with studying a law degree nor has anything to do with working as a solicitor. lawyering is an office job: filing applications, going through legal procedure. it's very systematic and literally no debating so you may find it incredibly boring. or have i misunderstood you?
tommadden
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
(Original post by Joleee)