SadMed
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
So we got our finals results today at the end of Y4, and I'm really struggling to process them

I've never done summative OSCEs before (was meant to have them at end of 3rd year but were cancelled bc of COVID). I knew some of them went not great but I ended up failing 3/15 stations and my best guess is I'm in 2nd decile from the bottom. I passed like 2/3 with really high marks and all the others look like borderlines tbh - I am so disappointed in myself and it's so hard for this not to be a huge confidence knock

I've always been comfortable and happy chatting to patients and have had plenty of comments from drs on placement in past about my 'easy/pleasant manner', so I don't think that was my issue (but the med school is refusing to give us our mark sheets back so I have no real way of knowing 🤷🏻*♀️)

I also know it's not from a lack of being 'book smart' as we also had a 3 hour written exam in MCQ format, which went really well and my mark was somehow the 10th highest in the year??

It makes me nervous for future exams that my OSCEs didn't go well, especially as I have no idea what to specifically improve on

I'm obviously really thrilled to have passed, and I know it could be much worse, but would appreciate any general advice on gaining back confidence!

Thanks so much in advance x
Helenia
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
(Original post by SadMed)
So we got our finals results today at the end of Y4, and I'm really struggling to process them

I've never done summative OSCEs before (was meant to have them at end of 3rd year but were cancelled bc of COVID). I knew some of them went not great but I ended up failing 3/15 stations and my best guess is I'm in 2nd decile from the bottom. I passed like 2/3 with really high marks and all the others look like borderlines tbh - I am so disappointed in myself and it's so hard for this not to be a huge confidence knock