DSMCubing
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
So basically I am a year 9 student and I am in top set maths. I recently finished my end of year exams and I got 80% on both maths papers (calc and non calc, higher tier), and if I am hopefully in top set maths in year 10 do you guys think I would be able to do further maths as a gcse?
agent37
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Sounds good but to make sure here are some things I'd advise you to do first

1) check if your school offers this and if not, discuss with your parents if you'd be able to study out of school - many schools don't do the further maths qualification! It's not a proper GCSE by the way, it's only a Level 2 qualification!

2) try sitting a full maths GCSE mock paper and see how you do! (This is not totally unreasonable as you do learn a lot in year 9 and personally I had been able to achieve a nine in the maths GCSE papers in year 9 - do not be disheartened if you get below a nine obviously, but you'd be looking at somewhere like a 7 if you are a top student!)

3) How well did you do in terms of being in top set? Eg. were your grades in the end of year exams low compared to other people in top set or were they high?

(Original post by DSMCubing)
So basically I am a year 9 student and I am in top set maths. I recently finished my end of year exams and I got 80% on both maths papers (calc and non calc, higher tier), and if I am hopefully in top set maths in year 10 do you guys think I would be able to do further maths as a gcse?
DSMCubing
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by agent37)
Sounds good but to make sure here are some things I'd advise you to do first

1) check if your school offers this and if not, discuss with your parents if you'd be able to study out of school - many schools don't do the further maths qualification! It's not a proper GCSE by the way, it's only a Level 2 qualification!