how strong are the average girl who lifts weights regularly?

Watch
Davidgettingfit
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi. I started lifting weights approx 1 year ago. I'm following the 5x5 model (5 reps, 5 sets). I was very weak to start with, and I'm probably still fairly weak compared to average men. My girlfriend teases me though, and says I'm still weaker than most of the girls lifting weights in the gym. She doesn't lift weights herself, but she says most of her female friends outlift me. I wonder if that is really true? I wonder how heavy do you girls lift ? My current lifts are : 75kg squat (5x5), 100kg deadlift (5x5), 50kg benchpress (5x5), military press 35kg 5x5.
NovaeSci
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Are you skinny? If so, eat more. The reason I say this is that you should be adding 2.5kg to each lift, every workout. You will find pressing movements will fail sooner than Deadlifts and Squats, so you may have to start adding 1-2kg every workout.

You seem to be progressing quite slow if you started a year ago. Your Bench Press should be at least your body weight by now and your Squat and Deadlift should be at least 1.5x your body weight. Try switching to 3x5 or 4x6. I personally prefer 4x6.

Also, between sets, if your current set you found easy and hit your reps with some to spare, rest 90 seconds. If you hit your rep target but feel the last rep was a bit of an effort, rest 3 minutes. If you fail to hit your rep range, or barely hit your least rep, then rest up to 5 minutes. Strength training runs on ATP, as opposed to Glycogen which is used on higher rep sets. It takes longer for ATP stores to recover from heavy sets.

Check out the below site. You can find what the average lift is for males or females, at certain body weights, for certain movements. It is split up into Beginner, Novice, Intermediate, Advanced and Elite.

https://strengthlevel.com/
Last edited by NovaeSci; 1 month ago
Dax_Swagg3r
Badges: 15
Rep:
?