4 weeks to save my Degree... GYG

Watch
Gefforyson
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
It's probably very unconventional to start a Grow Your Grades blog this late in the school year, but meh, let's do this thing.
I'm a first year student at Bath studying a Bsc in Mathematics. Covid and my amazing ability to procrastinate revision/watching lectures has led me into a summer of resits and deferred exams. So, as the title says; I have 4 weeks to save my degree and make my first year more than null and void.

Education History:
GCSE Grades:
Spoiler:
Show
7 9's, 3 7's, and 3 6's (or equivalent, I had a few letters in the mix my year)

A-level Grades:
Spoiler:
Show
A* Further Maths
A* Maths
A Physics

(Not sit formally, but delayed due to coronavirus.)

First Term Uni:
Spoiler:
Show
MA10207 Analysis 1: Exam 1: 41%
MA10265 Programming and discrete mathematics: Exam 1: 58% Coursework 1: 88%
MA10209 Algebra 1A: 57%
MA10211 Probability & statistics 1A: Exam 1: 45%
MA10230 Multivariable calculus and differential equations: Exam 1: 38% :mad:

I wasn't happy with this term at the time, and committed myself to doing better next time, I failed my Calculus exam, I've never failed an exam in my life before, I promised myself I wouldn't make this a habit...

Second Term Uni:
Spoiler:
Show
MA10207 Analysis 1: Exam 2: DEFERRED
MA10265 Programming and discrete mathematics: Exam 2: 27% Coursework 2: 45%
MA10210 Algebra 1B: Exam 1: DEFERRED
MA10212 Coursework 1,2,3,4: 40%,48%,0%,0% Exam 1: 22%
MA10236 Vectors, vector calculus and mechanics: Exam 1: 12%

Oh dear, look at all that red! I didn't keep my promise in the slightest did I... These results weren't unexpected by me at the time I took the exams, but were still a pain to see. I'll elaborate on what caused these dreadful results in future posts.

Summer Retakes/Deferred exams:
Spoiler:
Show
Deferrals:

MA10207 Exam 2: Date TBA
Current Confidence medium :unimpressed:
I'm catching up