Random thoughts on romantic relationships

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I m turning 18 and people of my age (or even younger than me) are all talking about wanting boyfriends/girlfriends, but I don't understand.
Yesterday a younger girl said I must have been in a relationship since I m nearly nearly 18, I just answered never cuz I studied in a girl school and lack motives in knowing others....... But second thought I seemed to have been disgusted by the thought of being in a relationship since.... kindergarten(?
It feels so insecure and dependent to be so connected to another person........

Somehow I can like a person so easily, but just can't/scared to develop romantic relationship with them......

And somehow I don't think I am that good to be loved another one.

Just random thoughts
londonmyst
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
It is fine to not want a romantic relationship or to have zero interest in sex.
Plenty of people have other ambitions and interests.
anosmianAcrimony
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
It's completely fine to be uninterested in romance. Don't get yourself into a relationship just because it's socially normal.

That said, being romantically connected with someone can be incredibly joyful and rewarding. It is also emotionally dangerous - it can feel really bad if things go wrong. It makes you very vulnerable to the other person. But that's also what makes it joyful - feeling like you can be entirely vulnerable with the other person, and knowing they won't use that to hurt you.

Romance doesn't have to entail dependence on the other person. People often do become too dependent on their partners, though, and that isn't necessarily healthy. It's important to keep in touch with other people - family and other close friends - keeping a sense of perspective on what's going on in the relationship, and continuing to be an independently, emotionally stable person.