AngelsGame03
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hello all,
I am going to be studying modern languages at Oxford next year and have a question in regards to supplies.
I plan on going to buy textbooks and whatnot soon but don't know what I need.
What would you suggest?
ps: I'll be studying two languages, one of which is a beginner's course.
thanks!
littlealexhorne
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
I'm also studying modern languages next year and I was sent a reading list by my college (Keble) a couple of months ago - no idea when other colleges will send out theirs. I was given very specific editions of each book to get so I wouldn't buy anything until you're told what you need.
AngelsGame03
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by littlealexhorne)
I'm also studying modern languages next year and I was sent a reading list by my college (Keble) a couple of months ago - no idea when other colleges will send out theirs. I was given very specific editions of each book to get so I wouldn't buy anything until you're told what you need.
Sorry, I must not have explained myself properly, I also received the reading list but I'm wondering how many notebooks etc I should buy. Will I need folders for instance and if so how many...
artful_lounger
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Really depends on how you organise yourself and use those materials - some people might just keep all their notes in one place, others may have them subdivided into innumerable folders!

At minimum you will probably want to divide your notes and so on between the two languages, so likely you'd want to have a notebook and folder for each minimally. It may be practical to divide things based on the papers you are taking, but you may find that some "overlap" a bit and you don't need a separate set of notebooks/folders for each, which will probably not be apparent until you start.