Need help persuading my parents with uni accomodations

Watch
shookie_.02
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hey, I'm a current undergraduate applicant for BEng Chemical Engineering and I need help from anyone who may have been (or may still be) in the same situation as me!

So the situation is that, my insurance choice (which is highly likely to be my destination) requires me to live away from home into the campus. Now the twist here is that I have quite strict parents, so the idea of moving an hour and a half away from them is extremely shocking and impossible.

Every other uni which does my course is outside London (where I live), so this uni is my best option. How can I persuade my parents to let me live away from home? I know it might not be a big deal for a lot of people at all, but as a somewhat traditional asian girl, this can be quite a sticky situation.
I really hope someone can get back to me soon, I'm kind of losing my mind at the moment :/

I hope you have a great day, stay safe and GOOD LUCK ON YOUR RESULTS!!
pineapplemango
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
I personally have never been in this situation, but one of my friends was and I helped him convince his parents to let him move into uni accommodation an hour away. No guarantee that this would work for you, but I thought I would pass along some general advice

It might take you going out of your way a bit, at least in the beginning until they get used to you living away.

My friend kind of convinced his parents with this agreement:
- He would call every day, or at least text if he was very busy
- He would come home every single weekend and holiday
- He told them he would share his location on his phone at all times (although they kind of forgot about this, so it never came to it)
- He brought them on move in day so they could see the accommodation he was living in, which made them feel more comfortable