Hannah18262
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I’m currently studying Business with Economics. From September I will be moving onto my 2nd year.

I’m planning to do a study abroad year next year (worth 120 credits) still unsure about it though.

But I’m sure that I will want to complete a Masters degree in Finance - or something similar to finance.

Is masters worth it though?
I know that it’s definitely not a waste of time, however, will it make me more employable in order to skip SOME “steps” when moving onto different departments (for example some people start as personal bankers, then move onto being a senior personal banker and then they become a branch manager etc) it takes years for some people.

If I will do a masters degree will this make it easier for me to skip this? I don’t know anybody who’s completed a masters degree that’s why I’m curious of what other people think.

When it comes to where I want to work.. definitely commercial banking / investment banking (yes I know it’s hard to get into it that’s why I always have a plan B - data science (coding etc)
University of Portsmouth Student Rep
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Hannah18262)
I’m currently studying Business with Economics. From September I will be moving onto my 2nd year.

I’m planning to do a study abroad year next year (worth 120 credits) still unsure about it though.

But I’m sure that I will want to complete a Masters degree in Finance - or something similar to finance.

Is masters worth it though?
I know that it’s definitely not a waste of time, however, will it make me more employable in order to skip SOME “steps” when moving onto different departments (for example some people start as personal bankers, then move onto being a senior personal banker and then they become a branch manager etc) it takes years for some people.