Boyfriend is obsessed with saving money

Watch
Student1569
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I have been with my boyfriend for over 5 years and have watched him become more and more obsessed with saving money.I know that the reason he does this is partly down to the fact his mum is the same, and always pressured him to save every penny whilst he was a child, but he now has over 20k in savings at the age of 21, and it’s beginning to cause numerous arguments between us.I am a student with a part time job whilst he works full time, therefore I don’t have loads and loads of money but it is always me trying to take us out to do stuff and offering to pay for it all.The other day he actually offered to take us out for dinner (something he hasn’t done for about 3 years) but he was stressed the whole time we were there, and it made me feel uncomfortable. I could tell the £60 bill bothered him a lot, which then made me feel bad. Normally when we go out to eat there always has to be some kind of voucher/deal involved, and this time there wasn’t so maybe that’s why? He says he is saving up to move out with me, but from what I can tell from other people he has more than enough to do this. I just get annoyed because he has a go at me for how I spend my money on myself and tells me I waste money (going out/clothes/shoes etc) but is then happy to let me pay when we go out for the day, which is more or less every time we do go out as it’s the only way I can get us to do anything together as a couple. The thing that annoys me the most however, is when he goes out with his friends he will happily spend money to the point he brags about how much he spends to me? One last point is that over the last year or so we had been saving cash in a tin that couldn’t be opened straight away, and were going to use it to pay for a holiday this year. I have put several hundred pounds in there which I now need to pay for the holiday (we are going with my parents, therefore I owe the m