The Student Room Group

Thinking of the Civil service. Any advice would be much appreciated.

I am now seriously considering a career in the civil service, however I am unsure of which department I would like to work for and what level (grade) I should aim to enter at? I studied history at both undergraduate and post-graduate level, but all my work experience has so far been non-grad. Do I look to join at AO or HO grade? What departments should I look at joining?

Any advice would be much appreciated!
Reply 1
Original post by NapoleonIV
I am now seriously considering a career in the civil service, however I am unsure of which department I would like to work for and what level (grade) I should aim to enter at? I studied history at both undergraduate and post-graduate level, but all my work experience has so far been non-grad. Do I look to join at AO or HO grade? What departments should I look at joining?

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Hi,

I work for the Civil service and can give you a few main pointers.

1. Don’t expect to earn a bucket load of money straight away. You have to work your way up.
2. Civil service jobs are reliable and you can move across different departments.
3. Once you’re there it’s hard to get out.
4. You can do jobs which come with an allowance which bumps up your salary. Usually found within Home Office and HMRC roles. These type of roles might have unsociable hours or weekends but day to day, very varied and you will learn a lot and have great experiences. I would say go for these jobs if they float your boat. Beats being stuck in an office 24/7.