cyan008
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi,
I'm a French student who is hoping to come to Sheffield for the year 2021-2022. I wanted to ask what were your experiences with private accomodations that aren't managed by the University, because with StarRez not working (I'm guessing this isn't the first time) and the Uni's accomodation being a bit expensive, I'm considering going to a private housing company if the rent is cheaper (but not too much because I'll know it's a scam lol).

Thank you in advance for your input and have a nice day!
iEndeavor
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
also a first year student coming in for the year 2021-2022, but i'd assume starrez isn't working for you either because you don't have an unconditional offer or because sheffield is your insurance choice?
cyan008
Rep:
?
I thought accommodation applications were open to students with conditional offers too but I must've misunderstood.
Yeah the Uni gave me a conditional offer, the condition being having an IELTS qualification. However, I already passed the international esol selt (C1) aaaand I'd rather not pay for an English qualification exam again. I sent them an email but no answer.
Last edited by cyan008; 1 month ago
iEndeavor
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by cyan008)
I thought accommodation applications were open to students with conditional offers too but I must've misunderstood.
Yeah the Uni gave me a conditional offer, the condition being having an IELTS qualification. However, I already passed the international esol selt (C1) aaaand I'd rather not pay for an English qualification exam again. I sent them an email but no answer.
sorry to hear that! i believe applications were open to students with conditional offers but the applications closed a while ago- maybe you could join the university freshers groups and ask around there? alternatively, starrez works for me so i don't mind asking the customer support there for you-
cyan008
Rep:
?