International student Medicine application (A.Y. 2022-23 entry)

Watch
1Serene
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi, everyone!

I'm an international student, awaiting my A-Level results due next Tuesday.

I believe I'll do well enough in Bio & Math, but I'm concerned about my Chem final grade. At the time of doing the work for chemistry evaluation, I was going through a lot in my personal life (as I'm sure we all were at some point this year). I'm expecting:

Bio - A*
Math - A*
Chem - B

Can anyone give me advice on what to expect if I receive these grades and am aiming to apply to medical schools this October? Are there any specific universities that may be more likely to give me an offer, based on previous years?

Thank you and all the best to everyone awaiting results day 2021!
BG94
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
I am afraid to be the bearer of bad news but unless you have done your admissions tests I cannot judge your application well.
As for just grades, medical schools in the UK want you to be exact with your grades to guarantee entry to medical schools, this means a minimum of AAA and nothing more (not even A* in 2 subjects help). This is all because of grade inflation and the pandemic that had caused chaos in the admissions cycles the last 2 years (2020 and 2021) which will affect 2022 to the point that there are going to be really strict with entry requirements.
https://www.theguardian.com/educatio...d-entry-grades
So pandemic is no more an excuse anymore! Which to be honest it is sad because it brings a lot of disadvantages especially to the socially disadvantaged groups and localities where such schools are located.

P.S-Which schools are you planning to apply btw? Buckingham can offer you a place with those scores!
Last edited by BG94; 1 month ago
SyedN
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago