Home student fees status at Imperial College London?

Watch
zecretive
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I'm a British student currently living overseas, planning on applying for Medicine but aiming to get classified as a home student (I know it is definitely possible and happens quite often, I live somewhere with a high volume of British Expats who move back to the UK for uni).

I've heard that Imperial College London is more strict with classifying fees status, are there any ICL students on here who lived abroad and got classified as home students? I want to apply to Imperial but if they are less likely to offer me home student fees I can't waste a UCAS spot on them.

I would appreciate any experiences from anyone who has experienced a similar situation, thank you!!
Elriktab
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
It depends on your circumstance entirely. Ideally to be a home student you have to complete your last two years of study in a UK school, if not then you have to submit a file of evidence by email. This includes things like bank statements and bills for water, electricity that your parents have paid, proof that you have visited the UK regularly while you were away (boarding tickets etc), proof that your family owns a property in the UK, proof of your parents employment in your country of current residence.
Basically anything that proves you and your family to be close to the UK is relevant and the reasons why you couldn't finish your studies in the UK are also relevant. If you are studying outside the UK because your parents moved away (on a temporary basis) and you have to live with them in your country of residence for example then the university has to treat you with the full rights of a normal UK student and you get home student status.