Olivialongmuir
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hello, I am planning on applying to uni next year and OT is what I wanted to do for a while, what experience did you have to get in? Thank you.
Mayhee54
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
I’m a mature international student, and I’ve been doing OT-related work for a long time. I applied for an MSc course which I will start in September. My experience was living in a Camphill community (living and working with young adults with special needs) for five years, teaching adaptive ski lessons for six winters, supporting neurodiverse students in a mainstream school for five years, and working at a neurodiverse summer camp program this summer. A lot of my jobs involved working directly with OTs and that was brought up in my interview. I’ve been out of uni for awhile, so I also took some prerequisite classes (these were required to apply to OT programs in the US) like anatomy and physiology, lifespan psychology, and abnormal psychology. It sounds like other students in my course have a variety of experiences in the field, but working at SEN schools is common or working in healthcare jobs that work closely with OTs. Hope that helps!
Olivialongmuir
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by Mayhee54)