The Student Room Group
Students on campus at the University of Newcastle
Newcastle University
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Visit website

how much will I spend as a student in Newcastle

I am a intrnation student, but i havent been Newcastle yet. I would like to ask about how much the cost will i spend in a month in Newcastle, like accommodation fee, living fee and eating fee if i cook for myself.
And i heard that for the internaltional stundet can work 20 hours a week as a part-time workers. Normally how much will i get in 1 hour, and is it easy to find the part time job in Newcastle?
(edited 2 years ago)
Original post by Chyan
I am a intrnation student, but i havent been Newcastle yet. I would like to ask about how much the cost will i spend in a month in Newcastle, like accommodation fee, living fee and eating fee if i cook for myself.
And i heard that for the internaltional stundet can work 20 hours a week as a part-time workers. Normally how much will i get in 1 hour, and is it easy to find the part time job in Newcastle?

Hi,
Well it depends more on how you live your life. Accommodation is per person for a room is about £350-£500 depending on how basic or top-end you want to go. Spending will again massively depend on you, but food could be £30-£60 pppw. Transport is cheapish compared with the UK, and drinks are quite cheap. The work thing I think is true but I'm not sure, but minimum wage is over £8p/h now.

Really depends on how much you want to spend.
Good luck.
M.
Students on campus at the University of Newcastle
Newcastle University
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Visit website
Original post by Chyan

Hi Chyan,