The Student Room Group

Applying with achieves grades to Law?

Currently I have just finished year 12. In my AS mocks I have a gotten mixed grades. My subjects are split evenly between sciences and humanities, having achieved A and A* in geography and philosophy and C and D in biology and Chemistry. However, I believe I can get the grades up to study Law.

The decision to study law has only come recently as I was originally planning to study a health related career throughout year 12.

Therefore I have no relevant work experience/ little relevant extra curricular activities .

Would it be wise to take a gap year , get more work experience and wider reading whilst possibly preparing for the LNAT.

My only concern with this would be applying with achieved grades and possibly not having relevant references.

Any advice would be appreciated.
Original post by wduwdh
Currently I have just finished year 12. In my AS mocks I have a gotten mixed grades. My subjects are split evenly between sciences and humanities, having achieved A and A* in geography and philosophy and C and D in biology and Chemistry. However, I believe I can get the grades up to study Law.

The decision to study law has only come recently as I was originally planning to study a health related career throughout year 12.

Therefore I have no relevant work experience/ little relevant extra curricular activities .

Would it be wise to take a gap year , get more work experience and wider reading whilst possibly preparing for the LNAT.

My only concern with this would be applying with achieved grades and possibly not having relevant references.

HI wduwdh

Firstly, after such a difficult year with lockdowns and fear of the pandemic affecting everyone around you, congratulations for doing so well in your mocks!

Secondly, this is a reminder that these are your mocks and they do not count- only your actual results count towards your university application.