The Student Room Group

MA Law or LLM Legal Studies for a non-law graduate?

Hi, looking for some advice!

I am currently studying a business undergraduate degree (graduating Summer 2022) but I am looking to study Law post-grad.
I studied Law at A Level and have completed some law-based modules during my undergrad but regret not having picked it to study at uni in the first place.
However, I would like to work within the business-side of Law and I am currently writing my dissertation about the legal-side of marketing, so I don't feel my degree is completely wasted!

I am currently trying to decide between 2 postgraduate courses - 'MA Law' at Bristol University or 'LLM Masters of Law (General)' at The University of Law.

Wondering if anyone has any advice/knowledge as to whether employers within the legal field "prefer"/"care" more about which university you study at (as Bristol tends to be well-liked by some law firms, from other family members' experience as Barristers/Solicitors) or whether they focus more on experience/having a LLM qualification rather than an MA in Law?

(I am aware that I could complete a GDL to convert but I enjoy studying the subject so want to complete a masters anyway. After the Masters, I plan to complete the SQE exams/QWE too. )

Many thanks in advance :smile: