Economics or law??

Watch this thread
aistudent
Badges: 15
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 9 months ago
I am a UK student and I have to chose what degree I want to do in the future and I’m really interested in Law & Economics. However, not many university’s that I like offer this as a joint degree so I am considering other options. My main goal in life is to fight for criminal justice - i really want to work towards a criminal defence lawyer. In my opinion, I think that law and economics work extremely well together So, I am considering four options but need some advice.
1 - get a degree in economics which will help me with analytical thinking and then do a Law conversion.
2- study law ( I’m not just intrigued by criminal law as I love the modules ) and then hopefully do a masters in criminal justice law
3- law and economics ( I would love to study both however, this minimises my options for uni)
4- take a gap year and do SATs so I can apply to the USA which is very unlikely that I will get in.
Joleee
Badges: 19
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 9 months ago
have you studied economics and law at A levels? which did you enjoy more?

which unis offer joint law and economics? are they decent schools?

what would you study in the US, economics i presume? do you have the funds for that?
McGinger
Badges: 18
Rep:
Report 9 months ago
(Original post by aistudent)
I am a UK student and I have to chose what degree I want to do in the future and I’m really interested in Law & Economics.
Go to some some Uni Open Days and listen to a range of subject presentations - Econ, Law, Crim and any other social science courses that inter est you.Do this for a couple of different Unis. You have until Jan 2022 to apply - use the time wisely so that you make an informed decision.