mell.cathh
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I am a current year 13 student and i want to apply to Cambridge to study Human, Social and Political science. However, my GCSES were badly affected (i was the 2020 student) so i am afraid it will affect my application. I am choosing a humanities subject because i got strong GCSES in humanities and i enjoy learning about society hence why i want to study HSPS . I now currently study 3 A levels specifically English Literature, Religious Studies and Sociology. My teachers have not given us our predicated grades but hopefully 3A's.

MY GCSES RESULTS (I know my GCSES are very bad)
English Language - 7 (A)
Religious Studies - 9 (A**)
IT BTEC - Distinction* (A*)
Health and Social Care BTEC - Distinction (A)
English Literature - 6 (B)
Physics - 6 (B)
Chemistry - 5 (high C)
Art - 5 (high C)
Biology - 4 (C)
Maths - 4 (C)

Do you think i have the potential to apply. Also, any cambridge students please give me some advice if your GCSES were not the best.
Last edited by mell.cathh; 1 month ago
Theloniouss
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
If your predicted grades are lower than the standard offer, that will lower your chances quite significantly. Your GCSEs aren't awful and they're OK in most relevant subjects.

Your application would need to be pretty strong in other areas to get an interview.
anaturner
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by mell.cathh)
I am a current year 13 student and i want to apply to Cambridge to study Human, Social and Political science. However, my GCSES were badly affected (i was the 2020 student) so i am afraid it will affect my application. I am choosing a humanities subject because i got strong GCSES in humanities and i enjoy learning about society hence why i want to study HSPS . I now currently study 3 A levels specifically English Literature, Religious Studies and Sociology. My teachers have not given us our predicated grades but hopefully 3A's.