Nursing then medicine straight away, or work first & how long?

Watch
Aarinn
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
So I am on a nursing course but have developed an interest to study medicine, but it's just that idk what to do after graduating as a nurse.

Like would I apply for medicine straight away, or do I work as a nurse a couple years & then apply for med cuz then I'll have some experiences I can talk about if I get invited to interview.

Also, how long do I have to work as a nurse to apply to medicine? & i'm damn sure they'll ask why you wnna change careers - & I won't know what to say.

Thank you in advance.
Last edited by Aarinn; 4 weeks ago
moonkatt
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Ultimately it's up to you. I'd probably work as a nurse for a while, get preceptorship out of the way and have a fall back plan should medicine fall through or take longer than expected, but I'm someone who always likes to have a plan B.
asclepeion
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by Aarinn)
& i'm damn sure they'll ask why you wnna change careers - & I won't know what to say.
Surely you have your own reasons for wanting to change careers as your thread is about wanting to pursue medicine even though you’re studying nursing.
What has prompted your interest in medicine?
Aarinn
Rep:
?
t

(Original post by moonkatt)
Ultimately it's up to you. I'd probably work as a nurse for a while, get preceptorship out of the way and have a fall back plan should medicine fall through or take longer than expected, but I'm someone who always likes to have a plan B.
thanks for the reply!
Just want to ask on a personal level: how long would you work as a nurse to finally apply to med?
Aarinn
Rep:
?
(Original post by asclepeion)
Surely you have your own reasons for wanting to change careers as your thread is about wanting to pursue medicine even though you’re studying nursing.
What has prompted your interest in medicine?
Hello thanks for your reply!