Any success stories after retaking twice ( 2 years behind in med school)

Watch
Adorable98
Badges: 15
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
I'm a 4th year student, I retook 3rd year (1st repeat) and this year my grandma passed away due to covid and that affected me tremendously and I'm currently sitting my resit exams this week but I'm pretty sure I didn't pass and I'll be required to repeat 4th year. ( 2nd repeat)

I'm studying abroad and in our university we're allowed to retake the year 3 times max ( 3 repeats before you get expelled)

I'll be 2 years behind and was wondering if I'll be allowed to register with GMC in the UK if I passed plab 1 & 2/ UKMLA?
Spencer Wells
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by Adorable98)
I'm a 4th year student, I retook 3rd year (1st repeat) and this year my grandma passed away due to covid and that affected me tremendously and I'm currently sitting my resit exams this week but I'm pretty sure I didn't pass and I'll be required to repeat 4th year. ( 2nd repeat)

I'm studying abroad and in our university we're allowed to retake the year 3 times max ( 3 repeats before you get expelled)

I'll be 2 years behind and was wondering if I'll be allowed to register with GMC in the UK if I passed plab 1 & 2/ UKMLA?
I'm sorry to hear about your situation. It doesn't matter how long it takes you to get through medical school. If you [eventually] finish and pass the required exams you will be eligible to register with the GMC.
Anonymous #1
Report 6 days ago
Hey OP, sorry to hear you've had a tough time. I repeated two years as well, but lo and behold I have made it to fy1 - currently in my first job. Doesn't matter how many years its taken you to get there, we all end up in the same job regardless!
There is light at the end of the tunnel.
asif007
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 day ago
Which country are you studying in? The rules for repeating years will be different in other countries outside the UK.