The Student Room Group

Diagnostic Radiography as a mature student

Hi,

I’m considering a career in Diagnostic Radiography after being interested in the field for some years now. I’m a mature student (late 30’s) with a stable job in computing, albeit it doesn’t provide much stimulation these days.

I’ve done a ton of research, spoke to people on the course, visited hospitals, spoke to Uni’s, but I’m still unsure if it’s going to be right for me until I actually take the plunge and get stuck in. To do this would mean giving up my career and it would be a point of no return. Funding isn’t an issue as the loan and bursary will cover expenses. Has anyone else been in a similar predicament? Is a leap of faith a good option in the current climate?

Thanks in advance!
I'm 49 and just started my 2nd year as a Therapeutic Radiography degree. If you're late 30's, you got another ~23-30 working years ahead of you, you may as well spend it doing something worthwhile.

My decision was made for me as I got made redundant, so it was a now or never moment. I don't know what you mean by "the current climate"? The NHS will always need radiographers, and especially if you're flexible you should have no problem finding a job when you graduate.
Thanks a lot for this comment I am38 Also a mum of 4 and I have got an offer to study diagnostic radiography starting September 2022 . I was so worried about age until I found this comment .
Original post by Doudou1433
Thanks a lot for this comment I am38 Also a mum of 4 and I have got an offer to study diagnostic radiography starting September 2022 . I was so worried about age until I found this comment .

Congrats!
Original post by maturestudent901
Hi,

I’m considering a career in Diagnostic Radiography after being interested in the field for some years now. I’m a mature student (late 30’s) with a stable job in computing, albeit it doesn’t provide much stimulation these days.