Challenger2000
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
I want to apply for an open university course for primary education.

It is an undergraduate course without QTS, can I obtain this in the future? Or is it entirely pointless? Help!!! I’m confused.
Last edited by Challenger2000; 4 weeks ago
1secondsofvamps
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Kinda pointless if you ask me.

Is there anything stopping you from doing Primary Education with QTS at university? You'll be a teacher in 3 years without additional studying.
Challenger2000
Rep:
?
Two reasons really. 1) uni has never really been an interest of mine - physically going, that is.2) I’m currently studying a level 3 in childcare so I can’t yet.
1secondsofvamps
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by Challenger2000)
Two reasons really. 1) uni has never really been an interest of mine - physically going, that is.2) I’m currently studying a level 3 in childcare so I can’t yet.
Even with a PGCE to obtain your QTS, you still have to attend in-person lectures.

You're probably better off paying for 3 years of tuition fees rather than 4.

I am a primary school teacher and personally, part of me does wish i did a Primary Ed with QTS for my undergrad. It's just so much easier.
Challenger2000
Rep:
?
(Original post by 1secondsofvamps)
Even with a PGCE to obtain your QTS, you still have to attend in-person lectures.

You're probably better off paying for 3 years of tuition fees rather than 4.

I am a primary school teacher and personally, part of me does wish i did a Primary Ed with QTS for my undergrad. It's just so much easier.
I’m only taking the level 3 diploma to get into Uni for primary education. However will that even get me in? Would access to higher education be the better option? I’m so stuck!
Get into Teaching
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by Challenger2000)