sitting january igcse as a gcse student

Watch
pistachio__
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
hiya, im a homeschooled student whos been studying for my GCSEs next year and i want to sit some earlier, in january.
I plan to take english lit, lang, mathematics, biology, chemistry.
however, i didnt know theres only iGCSEs available in Jan and not regular GCSE too.
do you think its smart for me to sit iGCSE exams? are there any major differences in the specification?
id like some opinion on that. thanks
PinkMobilePhone
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
If you're home educated, you really should have studied IGCSE material from the start for English Language, Biology, and Chemistry, because the GCSE exams for these subjects are difficult to complete due to practicals.

Maths is an easy adaptation to IGCSE, and as it's only September you've still got time. You'll need to start focusing on calculus though, as IGCSE has a fairly large focus on calculus whereas GCSE doesn't have calculus.

English Literature it depends which texts you've been studying.

I would suggest you take a look at the IGCSE syllabi for all the subjects and see whether you feel you can feasibly make the adaptations in your learning in time to the IGCSE criteria.

Also, the booking deadline is coming up very soon, so make your decision within a few days at most.
Last edited by PinkMobilePhone; 2 weeks ago
EOData
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
The entry deadline at the exam board for January is 21 October, but centres will have earlier deadlines than this so they have time to check everything before they submit.
pistachio__
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
(Original post by PinkMobilePhone)
If you're home educated, you really should have studied IGCSE material from the start for English Language, Biology, and Chemistry, because the GCSE exams for these subjects are difficult to complete due to practicals.