SpaceLover29
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
I am in 2nd year of a 4 year undergraduate degree in Scotland (hence the extra year). I would like to apply to PGCEs in England for maths but I have a few questions.

Firstly, how much experience do I need and what sort of experience does this need to be? I haven't done anything with children and teenages since leaving school and with Covid, I'm not sure how open schools are at the moment.

Secondly, will it matter if I get experience in schools Scotland for PGCEs in England? I know how the England education system works by going through it, but I know there will be some things that I won't know about due to never being a teacher.
Mr M
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
Some schools are not taking volunteers right now but some are. Gaining experience in Scotland is absolutely fine. For maths applications, it doesn't really matter whether you have recent school experience but it may help you feel more confident this is the right path for you.
SpaceLover29
Rep:
?
(Original post by Mr M)
Some schools are not taking volunteers right now but some are. Gaining experience in Scotland is absolutely fine. For maths applications, it doesn't really matter whether you have recent school experience but it may help you feel more confident this is the right path for you.
Thank you. I know that maths PGCE courses are less competitive which is why I'm not desperately going around trying to get experience with children and teenages right now, especially when I'm not even halfway through uni yet. I'm in St Andrews so not many choices of schools nearby but hopefully, the nearby one accepts other people when I do decide I need the experience.
SarcAndSpark
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by SpaceLover29)
I am in 2nd year of a 4 year undergraduate degree in Scotland (hence the extra year). I would like to apply to PGCEs in England for maths but I have a few questions.