4lly
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
I'm joining first year next week at Lancaster Uni and I need to pick an optional module. As my degree is two languages I can't pick a language and the only other option that appeals to me is maths. I was wondering how hard the maths module is because I've been told it's really hard and that I should just pick an easy subject but I'd like a bit more information about it before I decide to do/ not do it. (I did Higher Maths IB)
artful_lounger
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
What is the maths module in question? What are the prerequisites?

What languages are you studying and what are the other options? You might be interested in a module in e.g. linguistics, which could give you some more theoretical framework to understand your language study from, and also a number of linguistic theories are somewhat mathematical in nature (not quantitative per se but have that same analytical/abstract and logical approach), so that might be something to consider too!
4lly
Rep:
?
(Original post by artful_lounger)
What is the maths module in question? What are the prerequisites?

What languages are you studying and what are the other options? You might be interested in a module in e.g. linguistics, which could give you some more theoretical framework to understand your language study from, and also a number of linguistic theories are somewhat mathematical in nature (not quantitative per se but have that same analytical/abstract and logical approach), so that might be something to consider too!