Watch
Destati
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Hello, this is my first post here.
I need some useful advice regarding my career,
I have a diploma which has awarded me RQF Level 3 / SCQF Level 6-7 / CQFW Level 3 (UK framework levels)
BTEC National Diploma/Extended Diploma (UK Qualification)
The problem is that at the time of graduation when we were in class the teachers were not up to the skills and it was rare to go to laboratory to practice, so now I have the diploma without experience or knowledge.
My question is: which way is advisable?
1) I could do a course and be trained by a competent person but wasting the diploma because the course would only overwrite what I already got.
2) Start directly in the company and see if I can work while learning.
3) Learn the basics on my own and apply them for jobs.

I don't know which path I should take,
Any other options or advice is welcome.

ps: I got my diploma in 2016 in Italy, in 2019 I moved to the UK and I'm only using it now after having done the Statement of Comparability.
JasmineAcademic
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
Hey!

I think it would all depend on the work area your BTEC was in. I did a BTEC in biomedical science and I had lots of practical lab work. We had to do the lab work because we wouldn’t have been able to do our coursework if not. They definitely didn’t give you the learning experience you was supposed to get and I really don’t know how they managed to sign off on your qualification knowing you hadn’t done the majority of the laboratory work.