**CAREERS ADVICE FOR...** A History postgrad...

Watch
SahOm35
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
Initially, I knew that a History MA would be a waste of time + money and I might as well go straight into work after my History BA. But I managed to get a full scholarship so I thought why not. I didn't engage in many extracurriculars @ UG level (societies, projects etc) which I want to rectify in my 1 year MA. Now I need to figure out where to go next.

I'll cut to the chase. It's between...

1. Teaching - I have some experience with this working as a tutor but it isn't that well respected and the pay isn't great (if someone can change my mind please do). I also want to escape from the educational cycle and go into the real world. This leads me to...

2. Consulting/Private Sector Analyst roles - Because it's diverse, they take different disciplines and the pay is usually good - plus no two days are the same. Need tips to get into this sector with limited business experience

3. Journalism - I enjoy this the most, have some experience writing for my Uni but that's about it. I don't know about the pay so help me out with that.

These are my options. Please lemme know if there is another sector that would love a History postgrad with tutoring + e-commerce experience (I worked in a fancy call centre in UG days too).
Last edited by SahOm35; 2 weeks ago
SummerStrawberry
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
Have you thought about Teach First? You'll get placed in a school for two years as a teacher, and they have lots of partnerships with big firms (including the 'big four') who often take people who've done the programme after their placements.