The Student Room Group

Got datixed for calling a nurse a “stupid mother f”

I was wondering how serious behavioural datixes are compared to datixes due to clinical errors?

I’m really fed up with the ward I’m in at the moment with everyone acting cranky towards me and I sometimes can’t hold back and give them a verbal tongue lashing, but this is the first datix I’ve gotten.

Currently on the CMT and my consultant said that I just need to watch my behaviour but otherwise I was a good doctor.
Reply 1
Original post by Anonymous
I was wondering how serious behavioural datixes are compared to datixes due to clinical errors?

I’m really fed up with the ward I’m in at the moment with everyone acting cranky towards me and I sometimes can’t hold back and give them a verbal tongue lashing, but this is the first datix I’ve gotten.

Currently on the CMT and my consultant said that I just need to watch my behaviour but otherwise I was a good doctor.

You "sometimes can't hold back?" So you have given people a "verbal lashing" with personal insults on more than one occasion? That sounds pretty poor tbh. You need to get a grip on yourself, control your temper and act like a professional.

Will it affect your career? As a one-off, probably not. But remember you need to get an MSF done at some point, and if you continue to behave like this in lots of placements it will raise serious concerns about your interpersonal skills.
You should think about another career if you really can’t control yourself. What happens when a patient annoys you? That’s assuming your post is true.
I don't think that's an appropriate use of a datix.

A datix is to report patient safety issues. The nurse in this situation should have submitted a complaint rather than a datix.

In any case, you need to be more careful about how you speak to people.

(As an aside, how can you be doing CMT? CMT doesn't exist anymore.)
I don't think that's an appropriate use of a datix.