What was uni like before covid?

Watch
S2202
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
I’m genuinely so curious, did you guys have any online lectures recorded if anyone couldn’t attend lectures, how was attendance taken if it wasn’t online? What were exams like if they weren’t online? Was uni life any different?
Anonymous #1
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by S2202)
I’m genuinely so curious, did you guys have any online lectures recorded if anyone couldn’t attend lectures, how was attendance taken if it wasn’t online? What were exams like if they weren’t online? Was uni life any different?
I wasn’t at uni pre covid but some of my friends were and I remember them missing lectures to watch the online recordings. I think the lecturer was just recorded as they took the lecture and that was posted online
University of Suffolk student
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by S2202)
Hi S2202! It seems a long time ago now, doesn't it?! I'm in my 3rd year now so I started a few months before the pandemic hit, and back then, we only had face-to-face lectures at the university. All of the PowerPoints and learning resources were made available online that we could access, but if we missed a lecture then we'd only be able to study from the online resources. We have devices in each classroom that we can scan our university ID badges in order to record our attendance for each lecture! I've only had a couple of exams in person, but they followed the same sort of set up as GCSEs and A Levels, with all of the students in a large room, sitting at their own desks. Of course, the layout of exams would depend on what course you're studying and not all of my exams followed this format either! I suppose it was easier to meet others on the course as the lectures were face-to-face, but I feel as though now that Fresher's events have returned and some university lectures have resumed in person, that it's not much different anymore I hope this has answered your questions!