The Student Room Group

Publishing my undergrad dissertation

I’ve just graduated my undergrad and my supervisor and course leader suggested publishing my final year dissertation in an academic journal. Although my degree is in nutrition, my dissertation is actually more neuroscience related (related to ketone bodies, autophagy and Alzheimer’s disease). May I ask if anyone else has done it in a similar field. I desperately want to get into research and this would be a great opportunity for me to be a published author, would love to hear your experiences. Did it increases your chances of getting into a phd program of your choice? How was the whole process for you?
(edited 2 years ago)
Original post by PinkieKiss
I’ve just graduated my human nutrition degree with 90% and my supervisor and course leader suggested publishing my final year dissertation in an academic journal. Although my degree is in nutrition, my dissertation is actually more neuroscience related (related to ketone bodies, autophagy and Alzheimer’s disease). May I ask if anyone else has done it in a similar field and if so, if they have any advice. I desperately want to get into research and this would be a great opportunity for me to be a published author, so any advice would be greatly appreciated

You need to go back and ask your Supervisor and course leader - they should take you through the process, identifying the right publication, helping you edit it to the publication's requirements etc.
I'm not in your field but I have published several undergraduate research projects. What I'm surprised about is that your supervisor hasn't given you any further guidance here, since that's basically their job? I'm assuming you'll be familiar with the structure of papers in your field but you should definitely discuss with them properly before you start writing a manuscript. They'll also be able to give you suggestions of which journal/s to aim for.