Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I have recently started my 2nd year at university and have no friends to hang out with. During the first year, I was unable to make friends due to all our sessions being online. This week was my first week at university, I mainly had lectures but also a workshops, many people seemed to have already made friends, and I tend to sit alone in both lectures and workshops, which is really demotivating. I also didn't have any friends at college since which I didn't like either. I believe I have social anxiety, but I'm not sure. I am also a commuting student which doesn't help. How can I make friends?
Athy_Obelia
Badges: 19
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 month ago
I wouldn't be worrying too much since it's only been a week since you've started. People move around and talk to different people around then, looking to get to know people and who they could get along with. Whoever you see sitting together in lectures around this time, are most likely people they just happened to sit with from previous workshops/lectures etc.

Although this depends on your comfort zone, if I were you, I would go and sit next to someone seems like my crowd and get to know them. If you try this a few times, you'll eventually find a person you get along really well with. You still have 3 years ahead of you, plenty of time!

Good Luck!!
University of Bradford
Badges: 16
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Anonymous)