Mental Health Nursing or Mental Health & Well-being Degree

Watch
courtneyaxford
Badges: 2
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I'm currently a Access to HE student in Nursing & Midwifery. I really love the course and the people in my class are amazingly supportive of eachother. However, as I've got further into modules and going to uni open days I don't feel as drawn to Mental Health Nursing as before I started my Access course. Mainly being that I doubt my personal ability to perform as a MH nurse (due to low self confidence) which I am trying my best to work on

I found another degree which is in MH and Well-being with the option to go into the mental health sector in jobs such as charities or community services and the option to continue studies in areas such as counselling etc.

I feel like I'm at a cross-roads and just need advice from people that are not in my immediate circle as everyone has strong opinions on what I should/shouldn't do!

Any advice or thoughts would be appreciated
Tracey_W
Badges: 15
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by courtneyaxford)
I'm currently a Access to HE student in Nursing & Midwifery. I really love the course and the people in my class are amazingly supportive of eachother. However, as I've got further into modules and going to uni open days I don't feel as drawn to Mental Health Nursing as before I started my Access course. Mainly being that I doubt my personal ability to perform as a MH nurse (due to low self confidence) which I am trying my best to work on

I found another degree which is in MH and Well-being with the option to go into the mental health sector in jobs such as charities or community services and the option to continue studies in areas such as counselling etc.