how to have more confidence in seminars?

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
hey, apologies for the long post.

I'm in my second year of university now and i am really enjoying university overall. but one thing I can't seem to overcome is anxiety around seminars. depending on the class I will often stress about seminars in the days preceding it, wake up with a knot in my stomach the day of etc. its not like this with all of my classes, just a couple.

anyway, i want to overcome this, i want to show my tutors that i'm not being silent because i don't care (i love my course and find all of my modules interesting), its literally because of this anxiety that i have around contributing. I have rationalised it to myself so many times, thinking things like nobody really cares what you say, it doesn't matter if you make mistakes, there is more to life etc.

but for some reason when I am actually sat in the seminar room I just want the ground to swallow me up. I think there is clearly a larger issue around self-esteem probably going on, and which I will try to get professional help with. But in the meantime, I was just wondering whether anyone had any advice/ experienced or experiences a similar kind of thing?

P.S. i did my first year before the pandemic but took an interruption of studies, so i have been to a lot of in-person seminars before. for some reason they continue to stress me out
University of Portsmouth Student Rep
Badges: 16
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Anonymous)

I'm in my second year of university now and i am really enjoying university overall. but one thing I can't seem to overcome is anxiety around seminars. depending on the class I will often stress about seminars in the days preceding it, wake up with a knot in my stomach the day of etc. its not like this with all of my classes, just a couple.