veasummers
Badges: 3
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I'm a sixth form student from York hoping to apply to the University of Brighton.
Is it a suitable place for architecture? I'm not hellbent on a reputation per say, just looking for a place that will meet the requirements for a good architecture course.
I'm a little nervous about moving down there too, is it a comfy and safe place? I'm quite the fan of peace and calm and I am worried I will be overwhelmed when I arrive there.
What's the accommodation like as well? Is it close to Brighton?
I really hope it's a nice area, I really want to take my chances and come.
normaw
Badges: 11
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 month ago
The only way you will be able to get answers to a lot of your questions on Brighton is to go and see it. A lot of unis are doing open days so go, view the department, ask questions about the course, book a tour of the accommodation and campus, and have a look around the town. My question would be - are you going to be happy to be so far away from home? The most direct route from York to Brighton is via London and that will be expensive and time consuming if you need a weekend at home.

Brighton doesn't have the best reputation for architecture and edges towards the lower end of the league tables if you put any value on them. Architecture departments with better reputations include UCL, Bath, Sheffield, Cardiff, Newcastle, Loughborough, Nottingham, Liverpool, Oxford Brookes, Manchester, Lancaster, UWE, Coventry, Northumbria, Nottingham Trent, etc.
veasummers
Badges: 3
Rep:
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by normaw)