crookedcrystal
Badges: 4
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
So, some background. I am a high achieving student who moved school for year 12 in September. My old school was a standard state comp which wasn't bad, but wasn't really challenging either. My new school does the IB instead of A levels. I am already finding the workload tough and I know it will only continue to get worse throughout year 13, and I'm not really mad keen on any of my subjects, which are as follows:
HL: maths AA, bio, history
SL: eng lit lang, social anthropology, french B
I don't hate them, in fact I quite like my HLs, but I see the SLs as a pointless as I don't really care about them. I know that my old school would let me back in, but I am happy in most other aspects of this new school, so what do I do??
Last edited by crookedcrystal; 4 weeks ago
IBkidinthecorner
Badges: 17
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 4 weeks ago
Hey! I’m sorry to hear that you’re not having a great experience with IB. What do you want to study at university and which A-Levels would you be interested in studying if you go down that route? Also, have you spoken to your current school about your concerns?

I’ve just finished the IB and although it wasn’t easy, the workload was manageable if you paced yourself well. The only subjects we have in common are Bio HL and French B, but I’m happy to answer any questions you have about those
crookedcrystal
Badges: 4
Rep:
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
(Original post by IBkidinthecorner)
Hey! I’m sorry to hear that you’re not having a great experience with IB. What do you want to study at university and which A-Levels would you be interested in studying if you go down that route? Also, have you spoken to your current school about your concerns?