The Student Room Group

GCSE Choices - Need some advice please

Hello,
I'm in Y9 and started thinking about my GCSE choices. I am just starting out here on TSR, so please be kind :smile:

My first question is - Will my GCSE choices have an impact on uni later on? I want to study maths, computer science or design at uni. That might change later because I like sciences too. At GCSE, I'm doin maths and science anyway, but if I don't do computer science, will it count against me when I apply to uni?

I love Art, Music and Drama. For various reasons, I am only allowed to choose only one of those. I am thinkin of chosing the one that is more likely to give me a 9 with a reasonable effort. At this point, I am not doing too well in Maths and English - looks like I need to spend a lotof time on these long term to get to where I want. Chemistry - I am kind of ok as of now, but I am beginning to feel this to will also demand a lot of time in future. Like I'm not exactly finding it easy. So I want to chose other subjects that wont be too demanding.

Art: I am very good at art and I really enjoy it. I have done a lot of training and practice in many areas and also had my work exhibited at a couple of shows. I did some commission work for charity too. I understand exam is different thing altogether. I don't know! Some people at school have been saying GCSE Art extremely time consuming? Is that true?

Music: I just finished Grade 7 (ABRSM) in Violin. I also did my grade 5 theory. Do I need to know how to play the piano to get a 8/9 in music? If yes, is it a good idea to start now or is it already too late?

Drama: I am really really interested, but I did not do any after school classes in proper drama so far. No experience on stage too. Is it a good idea to still choose drama? I am doing grade 8 LAMDA in public speaking - is that relevant ?

What would you chose if you were me? Art or music or drama?

Thanks for reading!
Hii!