What careers involve quantum theory, if any?

Watch this thread
Bottle26
Badges: 2
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 9 months ago
Hi i am still in my final year of GCSE's but wondering weather i should go for an apprenticeship in something or take my A-levels and then go on to a degree.
My problem is that i prefer the theory side of things and less the practical side, but i don't know what courses i should take for that, or what careers that would lead into! I enjoy learning about and debating things like quantum mechanics but i don't know if i can get a career in that area.
Any insight would be helpful. xx
grey-giraffe
Badges: 15
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 9 months ago
If you prefer theory over practical, you likely won't enjoy an apprenticeship. It's 80% work-based learning (practical) and 20% off-the-job training with a college/university (theory).

If you're wanting to go into fields involving quantum theory/mechanics, you'll definitely need to go to university and likely need to do a MSc/PhD. In terms of jobs, I'm not too sure myself as I'm not in this field. From a quick search, it looks like there's opportunities in research, engineering with quantum computers, and also in the medical field.

Hope this is of some help
artful_lounger
Badges: 21
Rep:
Report 9 months ago